Sunday, March 23, 2008

Easter Eggs

Meat, as well as dairy products and eggs, were at one time renounced by all Christians during the Lenten fast. Among Eastern rite Christians, the discipline is still observed. Decorating and exchanging eggs at Easter have long been a sign of rejoicing. According to Wikipedia:
The egg is widely used as a symbol of new life just as a chick might hatch from the egg. The Easter egg tradition may have celebrated the end of the privations of Lent in the West, though this is speculation. Eggs were forbidden during Lent as well as other traditional fast days; since chickens would not stop producing eggs during this time, a larger than usual store tended to be available at the end of the fast, which had to be eaten quickly to prevent spoiling. Likewise, in Eastern Christianity, both meat and dairy are prohibited during the fast, and eggs are seen as "dairy" (a foodstuff that could be taken from an animal without shedding its blood). It was also traditional to use up all of the household's eggs before Lent began, which established the tradition of Pancake Day.

Here is another brief history of Easter eggs.

Among the most famous of Easter eggs are those made by Fabergé for the Russian Imperial Family. Share


Terry Nelson said...

Happy Easter Elena - I've wanted to comment for so long! I love Faberge eggs!

elena maria vidal said...

Me, too! I once saw the eggs from the Forbes collection at a museum; it was breathtaking.

Cathy_of_Alex said...

Happy Easter, Elena!

Enbrethiliel said...


Happy Easter, Elena! =D

I'm so happy the comments are back!

elena maria vidal said...

Thanks, Cathy! Thanks, Enbrethiliel! Happy Easter! Some others have written to me saying they missed the comments, too!